BreachNoticePulse benchmark report

As of 2026-11-04, BreachNoticePulse holds 1,547 public records from Washington State Attorney General data breach notifications (data.wa.gov) and California Attorney General data security breach list (oag.ca.gov). The largest group is Not stated (California list) with 1,162 (75%); the median state residents affected is $1,984 (middle half $826 to $7,810). Computed from the live dataset and updated on every refresh.

Last updated 2026-11-04 · Source: Washington State Attorney General data breach notifications (data.wa.gov) and California Attorney General data security breach list (oag.ca.gov)

What is the typical state residents affected?

Pointstate residents affected
Lowest$1
25th percentile$826
Median$1,984
75th percentile$7,810
Highest$786,927

By location

GroupRecordsMedian state residents affected
California1,061n/a
Washington385$2,066
Delaware101$1,880

By category

GroupRecordsMedian state residents affected
Not stated (California list)1,162$1,880
Cyberattack269$1,991
Unauthorized access107$2,584
Theft or mistake9$1,205

Records by month

MonthRecords
2025-1273
2026-0162
2026-0262
2026-0358
2026-0459
2026-0569
2026-0664
2026-0768
2026-0870
2026-0969
2026-1066
2026-113

Search every BreachNoticePulse record free Free weekly digest

Frequently asked questions

How many records does the BreachNoticePulse benchmark cover?

1,547 public records from Washington State Attorney General data breach notifications (data.wa.gov) and California Attorney General data security breach list (oag.ca.gov), as of 2026-11-04.

How often is it updated?

On every data refresh, automatically.

Can I cite it?

Yes: cite "Zalwin, BreachNoticePulse benchmark report" with a link to this page.

Computed by Zalwin. Informational only. BreachNoticePulse alternatives · All reports